Friday, January 18, 2013

Star Trek Week: The Fall is Coming

Star Trek cover to be unveiled
In a couple of months - March, specifically - my next Star Trek book will be released; Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Stuff of Dreams is an eBook novella centred around the character of Jean-Luc Picard, drawing on story threads from the movie Star Trek Generations and the events of m'colleague David Mack's recent ST:TNG Cold Equations trilogy and focusing on the Enterprise crew's involvement in a plan to change the course of history. I'll be blogging more about this story as the release date closes in.

But beyond that, in the latter part of 2013 I'm pleased to announce that I will also be writing a novel as part of Star Trek: The Fall, a five-part miniseries spanning several Star Trek crews and characters.

The Fall connects to recent events in the Star Trek fiction line, with the rise of a new threat force called the Typhon Pact and political schisms at the heart of the United Federation of Planets.

The official blurb says "The Federation is rocked to its core as the Typhon Pact is suspected of being behind a barbarous act that shatters the fragile peace of the Alpha Quadrant."

I'll be writing book #4 of the series, returning to William Riker and the crew of the U.S.S. Titan, whom I first wrote about back in my 2009 novel Synthesis.

Star Trek: The Fall shakes out like this:
Book #1 is Revelations and Dust by David R. George III, and features characters from Star Trek: Deep Space Nine saga
Book #2 is Una McCormack's The Crimson Shadow, featuring the Star Trek: The Next Generation crew and Garak on Cardassia.
Book #3 is A Ceremony of Losses by David Mack, featuring characters from DS9 and the U.S.S. Aventine.
Book #4 is The Poisoned Chalice by me, concentrating on characters from the Star Trek: Titan series.
Book #5 concludes the miniseries with Dayton Ward's Peaceable Kingdoms, which features the Star Trek: The Next Generation crew.

One thing we're looking to do with The Fall is showcase cross-series storylines, so you can also expect to see characters from different fiction streams teaming up and working together; in addition, some of the novels will be taking place simultaneously in different parts of the galaxy, and we've been working to make sure that the events in each story connect seamlessly to form one coherent narrative. It's an exciting project and I'm enthused about taking part. Revelations and Dust is due out in September and I believe the plan is to release one novel a month through to January next year, so look for The Poisoned Chalice just in time for Christmas...

No comments:

Post a comment